• Home
  • News
  • Calendar
  • About DF/HCC
  • Membership
  • Visitor Center

Cancer Disparities

2012-2013 Howard, Dorsey, Still Lecture and Diversity Awards Ceremony

The Office for Diversity Inclusion and Community Partnership at Harvard Medical School cordially invites you to attend the:

2012-2013 Howard, Dorsey, Still Lecture and Diversity Awards Ceremony

Wednesday, April 10, 2013

12:00 – 1:30 pm, Lecture and Awards Ceremony

(Reception to follow)

Waterhouse Room, Gordon Hall

Harvard Medical School

25 Shattuck Street, Boston, MA

Space is limited. Kindly RSVP online by Wednesday, April 3, 2013:


Questions? Contact Brian Anderson: brian_anderson@hms.harvard.edu; (617) 432-1083.


“The Importance of Diversity and Inclusion in the Life Sciences”


Susan R. Windham-Bannister, PhD

President and Chief Executive Officer, Massachusetts Life Sciences Center 

Dr. Susan Windham-Bannister is the first President and CEO of the Massachusetts Life Sciences Center (MLSC), a quasi-public organization charged with administering the 10-year $1 billion Life Sciences Initiative enacted by the Massachusetts Legislature in June 2008. The MLSC is the hub for all sectors of the Commonwealth’s life sciences   community – biotechnology, pharmaceuticals, medical devices, medical diagnostics and bioinformatics.

Before assuming her role at the MLSC, Dr. Windham-Bannister co-founded Abt Bio-Pharma Solutions (ABS), a boutique consulting firm serving life sciences companies. Within ABS, she managed the Commercial Strategy Group.  Dr. Windham-Bannister has co-authored two books: Competitive Strategy for Health Care Organizations, and Medicaid and Other Experiments in State Health Policy. She also has written numerous articles on competition in today’s health care marketplace.

The Howard, Dorsey, Still Lecture is named for the first three African Americans, Edwin Howard (HMS 1869), Thomas Dorsey (HMS 1869) and James Still (HMS 1871), who graduated from Harvard Medical School in the mid-1800’s, and recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to advancing the nation’s health.



Harold Amos Faculty Diversity Award

Christopher G. AhnAllen, PhD, Instructor in Psychiatry, VAMC

Nicte I. Mejia, MD, MPH Assistant Professor of Neurology, MGH

Romesh P. Nalliah, BDS, Instructor in Restorative Dentistry and Biomaterials Sciences, HSDM

Valerie L. Ward, MD, MPH, Assistant Professor of Radiology, BCH

Sharon P. Clayborne Staff Diversity Award

Catherine Lane, Assistant Dean of Clinical Operations, HSDM

The Diversity Awards were established to recognize HMS/HSDM faculty and staff who have made significant achievements in moving HMS/HSDM toward being a diverse and inclusive community.

A downloadable flyer is available below. 

HDS_DA_flyer2013_FINAL__2_.pdf752 K