• Home
  • News
  • Calendar
  • About DF/HCC
  • Membership
  • Visitor Center

Kenneth C. Anderson, MD

Kraft Family Professor of Medicine, Department of Medicine, Harvard Medical School

Physician, Oncology, Brigham And Women's Hospital

Contact Info

Kenneth Anderson
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
450 Brookline Avenue
Boston, MA, 02215
Mailstop: Mayer 586
Phone: 617-632-2144
Fax: 617-632-2569


Lisa Popitz
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
44 Binney Street
Boston, MA, 02115
Phone: 617-632-2144

DF/HCC Program Affiliation

Lymphoma and Myeloma, Co-Leader

DF/HCC Associations

Member, Center Scientific Council
Principal Investigator, Myeloma SPORE

Research Abstract

Our laboratory efforts focus on translational research in multiple myeloma. We characterize factors in the marrow microenvironment which allow tumor cell homing, growth and resistance to apoptosis in the marrow millieu in order to devise therapies which interrupt these processes. We are delineating signaling cascades mediating growth, death, and resistance to apoptosis in myeloma cells in order to devise novel treatment strategies which interrupt growth, trigger apoptosis, and overcome drug resistance. Finally, our efforts are directed to delinate mechanisms for enhancing allogeneic and autologous immunity to myeloma cells in order to derive related novel vaccincation and adoptive immunotherapy treatments.
Dr. Anderson is the Kraft Family Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School as well as Director of the Lebow Institute for Myeloma Therapeutics and Jerome Lipper Multiple Myeloma Center at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. He is a Doris Duke Distinguished Clinical Research Scientist and American Cancer Society Clinical Research Professor. After graduating from Johns Hopkins Medical School, he trained in internal medicine at John’s Hopkins Hospital, and then completed hematology, medical oncology, and tumor immunology training at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. Over the last three decades, he has focused his laboratory and clinical research studies on multiple myeloma. He has developed laboratory and animal models of the tumor in it is microenvironment which have allowed for both identification of novel targets and validation of novel targeted therapies, and has then rapidly translated these studies to clinical trials culminating in FDA approval of novel targeted therapies. His paradigm for identifying and validating targets in the tumor cell and its milieu has transformed myeloma therapy and markedly improved patient outcome.
He is the recipient of many scientific and humanitarian awards including the International Myeloma Workshop Waldenstrom’s Award in 2003, the International Myeloma Foundation Robert A. Kyle Lifetime Achievement Award in 2005, the American Association for Cancer Research Joseph H. Burchenal Award in 2007, and the American Society of Hematology William Dameshek Prize in 2008. He was elected into the Johns Hopkins Society of Scholars in 2009, as well as the Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences and the Royal Colleges of Physicians and of Pathologists (UK) in 2010. In 2011 he received the American Society of Clinical Oncology David A. Karnofsky Award and the Hope Funds for Cancer Research Award of Excellence in Clinical Research, and in 2012 received the Ron Burton Humanitarian Award, the Harvard Medical School Warren Alpert Foundation Prize, and the American Cancer Society Medal of Honor. In 2013 he was the Distinguished Clinical Science Lecturer at Dartmouth Geisel School of Medicine and received the Leonard P. Zakim Patient Advocacy Award, and in 2014 was the recipient of the David Workman Memorial Award from the Samuel Waxman Research Foundation, and the University of Miami Sylvester Cancer Center Annual Zubrod Memorial Award


View All Publications