• Home
  • News
  • Calendar
  • About DF/HCC
  • Membership
  • Visitor Center

Two DF/HCC members elected to Institute of Medicine

William G. Kaelin Jr., MD (left) and David T. Scadden, MD (right)

On October 8, DF/HCC's William Kaelin, MD, and David Scadden, MD, were announced as two of the 65 new appointments to the Institute of Medicine. Election is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of medicine and health.

"It is a great pleasure to welcome these distinguished and influential individuals to the Institute of Medicine," said IOM President Harvey V. Fineberg.  "Members are elected through a highly selective process that recognizes people who have made major contributions to the advancement of the medical sciences, health care, and public health.  Election is considered one of the highest honors in the fields of medicine and health."

Current active members elect new members from among candidates nominated for their professional achievement and commitment to service.  An unusual diversity of talent is assured by the Institute's charter, which stipulates that at least one-quarter of the membership be selected from outside the health professions, from such fields as the natural, social, and behavioral sciences, as well as law, administration, engineering, and the humanities.

The Institute of Medicine is unique for its structure as both an honorific membership organization and an advisory organization.  Established in 1970 by the National Academy of Sciences, the Institute has become recognized as a national resource for independent, scientifically informed analysis and recommendations on human health issues.  With their election, members make a commitment to devote a significant amount of volunteer time as members of IOM committees, which engage in a broad range of studies on health policy issues.

For a complete list of IOM's new members, visit their website.