• Home
  • News
  • Calendar
  • About DF/HCC
  • Membership
  • Visitor Center

Two DF/HCC members honored at ASCO annual meeting

Jay Harris, MD (DFCI) and Bruce Johnson, MD (DFCI) were honored at the 2008 meeting of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) for their outstanding accomplishments in cancer research.

Harris (left) was chosen as the annual Gianni Bonadonna Breast Cancer Award recipient. This $10,000 award recognizes an active clinical or translational researcher with a distinguished record of accomplishments in advancing the field of breast cancer research. He will accept the award and present the lecture, “Local Treatment of Breast Cancer: Looking Backward to Gaze Forward,” at the upcoming 2008 Breast Cancer Symposium being held Sept. 5-7 in Washington, D.C.




Johnson (left) was awarded the ASCO Cancer Foundation’s newest grant, the Translational Research Professorship. He, as well as Everett Vokes, MD (University of Chicago), will receive $500,000 over five years to support continued efforts to bring advances in basic sciences into the clinical area, and to serve as a mentor for other translational researchers.