• Home
  • News
  • Calendar
  • About DF/HCC
  • Membership
  • Visitor Center

Three DF/HCC scientists win AACR awards

DF/HCC Program Leaders Kenneth C. Anderson, MD (DFCI) and Daniel A. Haber, MD, PhD (MGH), and member Kornelia Polyak, MD, PhD (DFCI), were honored recently at the 2007 annual meeting of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) for outstanding accomplishments in the fight against cancer.

Anderson, co-leader of the DF/HCC Lymphoma and Myeloma Program and chief of the Division of Hematologic Neoplasia, Department of Medical Oncology, at DFCI, received the AACR-Joseph H. Burchenal Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievements in Clinical Research for his contributions to translational and clinical advances in multiple myeloma.

Haber, leader of the DF/HCC Cancer Genetics Program and director of the MGH Cancer Center, won the AACR-Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award for his contributions to the understanding of the molecular basis of cancer and for applying these insights to the use of targeted therapies for cancer.

Polyak, member of the DF/HCC Cancer Genetics and Breast Cancer Programs and associate professor of medicine at DFCI, received the AACR Award for Outstanding Achievement in Cancer Research in recognition of her innovative contributions to understanding molecular alterations in breast cancer.