3 Advisory Committees: Internal, External, and Alumni

Alumni Advisory Committee (AAC):

  • Call once per year
  • To enhance the transition of Scholars to faculty positions; to share “best practices” and advice on successful transitions of MGH K12 graduates to academic positions
  • Plans Alumni Scientific Retreat. View the Retreats page.

Internal Advisory Committee (IAC):

  • Meets in person twice per year at MGH
  • Oversight of entire program
  • In place in case any issues arise such as those related to training length, trainee progress, interactions with trainee and committee 

External Advisory Committee (EAC):

  • Call/meeting once per year.
  • Oversight of entire program from director reports and evaluation data 

EAC Members

Stuart Grossman (Chair), MD

Professor of Oncology,
Medicine & Neurosurgery
Director, Neuro-Oncology
Johns Hopkins

Frank Furnari
, PhD
Member of the Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research 
Professor of Pathology at University of California San Diego

Dennis Shrieve, MD, PhD
Chair and Professor of Radiation Oncology, Huntsman Cancer Hospital, University of Utah

Lisa DeAngelis, MD

Chair, Department of Neurology
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center

Linda Liau, MD, PhD

Professor and Vice Chair Department of Neurosurgery

Minesh Mehta, MD
Deputy Director and Chief of Radiation Oncology
Miami Cancer Institute at Baptist Health South Florida

Brian O’Neill, MD

Professor of Neurology
Mayo Medical School

IAC Members

(also view the Faculty page for more detail on IAC listed below)

Tracy Batchelor, MD (PI, Director and Chair)

Giovanni Armenise - Harvard Professor of Neurology, Neurology,
Harvard Medical School
Executive Director, Stephen E. and Catherine Pappas Center for Neuro-Oncology,
Massachusetts General Hospital

Robert Martuza, MD

William and Elizabeth Sweet Professor of Neuroscience in the Department of Neurosurgery, Neurosurgery, Harvard Medical School 

Xandra Breakefield, PhD

Professor, Neurology, Harvard Medical School
Geneticist (Neurology), Molecular Neurogenetics Unit, Massachusetts General Hospital
Geneticist, Radiology, Massachusetts General Hospital

Nino Chiocca, MD, PhD
Harvey W. Cushing Professor of Neurosurgery, Neurosurgery, Harvard Medical School
Chairman, Neurosurgery, Brigham And Women's Hospital
Co-Director, Institute for the Neurosciences , Brigham And Women's Hospital Surgical Director, Center for Neuro-oncology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute


David Louis, MD
Benjamin Castleman Professor of Pathology, Pathology, Harvard Medical School
Chief, Pathology, Massachusetts General Hospital

Scott Plotkin, MD, PhD (Co-Director)
Associate Professor, Neurology, Harvard Medical School
Associate Professor, Neurology, Massachusetts General Hospital

Anat Stemmer-Rachamimov, MD
Associate Professor, Pathology, Harvard Medical School
Physician, Associate Neuropathologist, Massachusetts General Hospital

Charles Stiles, PhD (Advisor)
Professor, Neurobiology, Harvard Medical School
Co-Chair, Cancer Biology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Deputy Director, Mahoney Center for Neuro Oncology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Patrick Wen, MD
Professor, Neurology, Harvard Medical School
Director, Center For Neuro-Oncology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

AAC Members

(also view the Scholars page for more details on AAC listed below)

Kesari Santosh, MD, PhD
Chair, Department of Translational Neuro-Oncology and Neurotherapeutics; Professor of Neurosciences, John Wayne Cancer Institute;
Director of Neuro-Oncology, Providence Saint John’s Health Center; Member, Los Angeles Biomedical Research Institute 

Mariella Filbin, MD, PhD

Pediatric Hematology/Oncology Fellow, Dana-Farber/Children's Hospital Cancer Center

Priscilla Brastianos, MD

Director of Brain Metastasis Program and Instructor, Massachusetts General Hospital 

Clark Chen, MD, PhD

Associate Professor, Neurosurgery and Vice Chair, Department of Neurosurgery, University of California, San Diego

Ed Smith, MD

Associate Professor, Dept. Neurosurgery, Boston Children's Hospital 

Milan Chheda, MD

Assistant Professor, Division of Medical Oncology, Department of Medicine, Washington University School of Medicine