4 IECD Students are Among the 2019 ABRCMS Presentation Awardees

By Rosemary Nabukeera | DF/HCC Communications 

NOVEMBER 20, 2019


On November 16 of this year, four students from several of the
 student training programs run through Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center’s Initiative to Eliminate Cancer Disparities (IECD), delivered their presentations and won their respective awards at the Annual Biomedical Research Conference for Minority Students (ABRCMS). The four were among the 13 IECD students who were selected to present at the conference that is considered to be the "largest communities of underrepresented minorities in science, technology, engineering and mathematics." According to the ABRCMS website, all student presentations are "judged and those receiving the highest scores in each scientific discipline are given an award during the closing banquet." 

Below is the list of students who won at ABRCMS conference: 





Eileen Millen


Public Health/Social Sciences 

Caroline Kokulis, MS

Faith Koroma-Coker

(2019 - 2022)

Public Health/Social Sciences   Andy Tan PhD, MPH, MBBS;
Suha Ballout, PhD, RN 
Gabriela Rico YFC 
(2019 - 2022)
Cancer Biology  Vijaya Ramesh, PhD 
Laetitia Pierre-Louis CURE 
Cancer Biology  Nikhil C. Munshi, MD